









May 3, 2021

The Honorable Lois Kolkhorst P.O. Box 12068 Capitol Station Austin, TX 78711

RE: Senate Bill 735

Dear Chair Kolkhorst:

On behalf of the organizations listed above, we are writing to respectfully request that you and the respective members of the Senate Committee on Health and Human Services oppose Senate Bill 735. This bill would allow nurse-midwives increased authority to treat and diagnose a patient. Our organizations are firmly against the proposed legislation.

We are both respectful of the expertise, experience, education, and training of all nurse-midwives. However, our organizations believe that a physician-led and collaborative team-based approach is the most optimal for patient care delivery and overall healthcare outcomes.

Our organizations believe SB 735 would expand the scope of practice for nurse-midwives since it allows a nurse-midwife to treat and diagnose a patient. If this bill passes, it would compromise patient care.

Our intent is to ensure that any midwifery-related policy proposal assures safe midwifery care for both the mother and baby. Since you and your colleagues have led the charge and worked so hard to reduce maternal mortality in Texas, we know any regression in care is of great importance to you.

Independent treating and diagnosing <u>IS</u> the practice of medicine, and it must continue to be reserved for those properly trained to do so. We believe that Senate Bill 735 is too broad, and is not in the best interest of patients. Our physician members are committed to the existing collaborative approach with the nurse-midwife community to continue to best serve Texas patients, with good communication and plans for unanticipated complications. Please oppose Senate Bill 735.

## Sincerely,

Eugene Cay

Eugene C. Toy, MD, FACOG ACOG District XI Chair

Debra Patt, MD Council on Legislation Chair Texas Medical Association

Amer Shakil, MD, MBA
President
Texas Academy of Family Physicians

Seth Kaplan, MD, FAAP President Texas Pediatric Society

John Flores, MD, FACP

John Flow, MD

President

Texas Chapter American College of Physicians Services

CC:

Senator Charles Perry Senator César Blanco Senator Dawn Buckingham Senator Donna Campbell Senator Bob Hall Senator Borris L. Miles

Senator Beverly Powell Senator Kel Seliger